Founding members Nanci Vinci and Libby Dart at the 1971 dedication of the West Feliciana Historical Society Museum

Many residents enjoy dressing in period costume during our Audubon Pilgrimage.

In the late 1960s, before tourism became an industry and before preservation was a byword, several very forward-thinking individuals in West Feliciana formed a non-profit organization and initiated a process directly leading St. Francisville to top the list of Louisiana's best places to visit - second only to the city of New Orleans.

The charter members of the West Feliciana Historical Society invented tourism in our area.  The West Feliciana Tourist Commission now directs all aspects of this very important industry.  In the early years, the Historical Society conceived an annual pilgrimage to be its major fund-raiser, which it is, to this day.

The Audubon Pilgrimage is and always has been an exercise in community.

A faithful core of volunteers orchestrates the parish-wide event, and the Historical Society depends upon their efforts and the funds generated by the annual Pilgrimage to operate and maintain our headquarters and the museum, to employ our Museum Director, and to maintain Market Hall.



Susie Tully


Vice President

Dot Temple



Lucie Cassity



J. Rucker Leake



Bob Butler

Beryl Gene Daniel

Leigh Anne Jones

Sylvia Leake

Thomas Temple Jr.

Nancy Vinci



Dorcas Brown

Elisabeth Kilbourne Dart

Clara Ruth Saint


Members of the Board have designated areas of responsibility and serve as guardians of the following interests of the Society:  Pilgrimage • Property • Membership • Rural Homestead • Community Liaison • Promotions & Publications • Programs & Events